top of page
Search

Leaving everything to Follow Christ

Following Christ doesn't mean you only read your Bible and go to church and fellowships. You have to let go of your worldly pleasures and desires. Some Christians like saying "since I do everything for God maybe I can at least listen to some worldly songs'' God wants you to let go of all that because they are weapons of the devil to distract you from the word of God impacting your life. Read Matthew 4:18-20.

It says As Jesus was walking beside the Sea of Galilee, he saw two fishermen, Simon called Peter and his brother Andrew. They were casting a net into the lake, for they were fishermen. "Come follow me" Jesus said." And I will make you fishers of men" At once they left their nets and followed Him.

I really love what Simon and Andrew did. When Jesus called them, the Bible says "At one they left their nets and followed Him. This is how hungry we should be for the word. When they tell you lets go for evening fellowship, don't say your still watching a movie. Leave everything you are doing and go. I just want you to know that God is the only way, truth and life. Let no worldly thing steal a second of your life to get to know God more.

Now this is my favorite part, Philippians 3:7-8

But whatever were gains to me I now consider loss for Christ's sake. What is more, I consider everything loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage that I may gain Christ.

I love what the Bible says, consider every worldly thing garbage so that you may gain Christ. Simple!!!

Because of the surpassing worth of the knowledge of Christ my Lord. When you start to follow Christ and do everything based on His word all other worldly things appear useless in the eyes of a child of God. This is because God starts to show you greater plans that he has for your life. Nothing in this world compares to getting to know God more. He gives you purpose in your life. He shows you greater plans and visions He has for your life. Most importantly when we do this, we start to gain this peace that only God gives. Most people try to find peace in the world but this peace doesn't last but the peace of God is everlasting.

John 14:27 Peace I leave you my peace I give you. I do not give you as the world gives, Don't let your hearts be troubled and don't be afraid


Yearn to follow Christ

Prayer; Holy Spirit, I pray you may convict my spirit to always yearn to follow and think about Christ each and every day of my life and forget about all worldly pleasures for they are garbage AMEN.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page